Is My HVAC Unit ENERGY STAR Approved?

Energy efficiency is important when purchasing new heating and cooling equipment. In the HVAC industry, we use various ratings to measure the energy efficiency of different systems. The Environmental Protection Agency created a program called ENERGY STAR to help homeowners across the country better understand efficiency of home equipment. When you buy ENERGY STAR HVAC equipment, you can feel confident that you’re getting a high-efficiency solution for your home.


Started in 1992, ENERGY STAR has served as a guiding symbol of energy efficiency for almost 30 years. The logo is widely recognizable by consumers as an indication of products with superior efficiency levels. ENERGY STAR HVAC units are independently certified and must meet strict efficiency standards outlined by the program.

Because the ENERGY STAR label has become so important to buyers, manufacturers strive to incorporate new technologies into their products to further improve quality and energy efficiency. ENERGY STAR-certified products feature our industry’s latest and greatest technological innovations, with features designed not only to help homeowners control energy costs but to maintain a most comfortable indoor environment.


There are many categories of HVAC equipment available with the ENERGY STAR-certified label. ENERGY STAR HVAC standards are as follows:

For Furnaces:

  • Homes in the South require less heat,  so the ENERGY STAR U.S. South logo is used on qualifying gas furnace products. To earn this label, furnaces must be up to 11 percent more efficient than standard furnace models. Their efficiency allows homeowners to save an average of $30 on annual heating costs.
  • Oil furnaces with the ENERGY STAR label deliver up to four percent higher efficiency than basic furnace models, generating a savings of up to $75 in annual heating costs.

For Boilers:

  • ENERGY STAR oil boilers feature AFUE ratings at or above 87%; gas boilers have an AFUE of 90% or higher.
  • ENERGY STAR HVAC boilers deliver greater efficiency through the use of technology such as electronic ignition systems, advanced combustion, and sealed combustion chambers.

For Heat Pumps:

  • Air source heat pumps meeting ENERGY STAR qualifications have an HSPF (Heating Seasonal Performance Factor) at or greater than 8.5, a SEER (Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio) at or greater than 15, and an EER (Energy Efficiency Ratio) at or greater than 12.5 for split systems.
  • For packaged air source heat pump systems, units must have an HSPF at or greater than 8.2, a SEER at or greater than 15, and an EER at or greater than 12.
  • Geothermal heat pumps offer more than 45 percent higher efficiency versus basic models.

For Central Air Conditioners:

  • ENERGY STAR HVAC central air conditioners must have a 15 or higher SEER and a 12.5 or higher EER for split systems. For packaged units, they must have a 15 or higher SEER and a 12 or higher EER.

ENERGY STAR HVAC equipment also includes ductless HVAC systems, smart thermostats, and ventilation fans.

Shop for ENERGY STAR HVAC Products with Hans

Hans Heating and Air knows how important it is to buy a new heating or air conditioning unit with excellent energy efficiency, and an ENERGY STAR HVAC label shares that these products meet our customers’ high standards. Let us help you select an ENERGY STAR system that meets your household’s needs. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.

Return back to all blogs

Stay In Touch

Keep up with the latest tips and special deals - 
subscribe to our monthly newsletter.